Home»Social Media»What is Moments for Facebook?

What is Moments for Facebook?

What is Moments for Facebook? Moments is an app designed to help people better share their photos (privately) to a group for events big or small. Facebook launched Moments in the US in June of 2015 and has since been rolling out the app to other countries.

The example that Facebook gives is that if you go to a wedding, instead of all of your friends trying to get the same pictures, that same group shot, your friends can instead share photos via the Moments app for a quick way to share all of your event photos to the group.

By syncing all of your event photos to the Moments app you can privately share photos you took and have access to the photos that you didn’t.

How Does the Moments App Work?

The Moments app will recognize when the photos you took were taken, it will use facial recognition (the same technology that offers tag suggestions) to identify which friends are in the photo and the app will then group the photos. As a user, you will be able to privately sync the photos with selected friends and they, in turn, can decide to sync their photos with you.

Check out Facebook's video on Moments HERE

What is the Storyline Feature and How Do I Use It?

Once you have a group of photos in the Moments app you can create a Storyline. The Storyline feature can take the photos that are in your group and make a customizable movie that reflects your event or “Moment”. You can choose the photos that you want to include (need to select at least 6 photos) and you can choose between 11 different music options to set your story to. Once you have created the story, you can edit the story, preview (all in real-time) and share with your friends.

What’s Happening Now and Will My Synced Photos Be Deleted?

As of June 2016, Facebook is saying that your synced photos will be deleted unless you download the Moments app by July 7th, 2016.

Here is the message from Facebook:

“We wanted to let you know that photos you privately synced from your phone to Facebook will be deleted soon. Earlier this year, they were moved to Moments, a new app from Facebook.

If you want to keep your (number of photos), download Moments and log in before Jul 7. If you don’t want Moments, you can also download these photos directly to your computer from your Facebook profile. Otherwise, they’ll be deleted. This won’t affect photos or videos you’ve shared on Facebook.”

So, you don’t have to download Moments and log in, but you to need to download your synced photos before July 7, 2016, if you don’t want them to be deleted. What are synced photos? Synced photos that will be deleted are not synced photos that have been uploaded, but rather photos that are synced and stored (only) in the synced album of either your desktop version of Facebook or the Facebook mobile app.

Do you use Facebook’s Moments app? Is it useful? What about the Storyline feature? Do you create mini-movies out of your photos?

Previous post

Mobile Accessibility

Next post

What is Content Marketing?

4 Comments

  1. Camilla
    July 24, 2016 at 4:02 am — Reply

    Exactly what I was looking for, thanks for putting up.

    • July 25, 2016 at 12:10 am — Reply

      Great to hear!

      • Mena
        September 8, 2016 at 11:10 am — Reply

        Kudos! What a neat way of thinking about it.

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published.